ITIL® Intermediate (SD)

The Service Design (SD) module is one of the qualifications within the ITIL® Service Lifecycle category of the ITIL® Intermediate level. The certification demonstrates the candidate’s knowledge of good practices in the design of IT services, processes, and other aspects of IT service management.

The Service Design module focuses on the design of IT services, covering the architectures, processes, policies and documentation. This enables candidates to design services, hence meeting the needs of the organization.


Details for This Course
Date Duration Location Enquiry
  • Overview
  • Course Objectives
  • Course Exam(s)
  • Who Should Attend
  • Course topics
  • Benefits

ITIL® Intermediate (SD)

ITIL® Intermediate - SD

The intermediate level of ITIL offers a role based hands-on experience and in-depth coverage of the contents.

Service Design's main purpose is “to design the new/changed service for eventual introduction into the live environment.” The objectives of Service Design is

  • Design effective services with minimal need for improvement
  • Activities are periodic or exception-based, typically triggered by business need or event

Key features

  • 2 days of Instructor Led Training
  • ITIL Intermediate exam
  • Softcopy of the material
  • Softcopy of SD material
  • E- certificate
  • Highly competent and ITIL Expert certified trainers



ITIL® is a registered Trademark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

Certification Levels

The ITIL® certification scheme provides a modular approach to the ITIL framework, and is comprised of a series of qualifications focused on different aspects of ITIL best practice to various degrees of depth and detail. The tiered structure of the qualification offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of ITIL and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest. There are five certification levels within the scheme:

  • Foundation Level
  • Intermediate Level
  • Expert Level
  • Master Level

To learn more on these levels please visit:

By the end of ITIL® SD certification training you will:

  • Understand the purpose, principles and processes in service design
  • Identify technology-related activities and considerations in service design
  • Identify how to organize, implement and improve service design
  • Identify challenges, critical success factors and risks


Hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (or other appropriate earlier ITIL and bridge qualifications) A basic IT literacy and around 2 years IT experience are highly desirable.

Intermediate Exam Details:

  • Exam Duration: 90 Minutes
  • Exam Format: Multiple Choice, scenario based gradient scored question
  • Exam Pass Mark: 70%
  • Level of Qualification: Intermediate
  • Electronic Devices Permitted: No
  • Open Book: No
  • No. of questions: 8


  • An IT professional working in roles associated with strategic planning, execution and control within a service-based business model.
  • CIOs, CTOs, managers
  • Supervisory staff, team leaders
  • Designers, architects, planners
  • IT consultants, IT audit managers
  • IT security managers and ITSM trainers involved in the ongoing management
  • Coordination and integration of design activities within the Service Lifecycle


ITIL Intermediate SD

  • Introduction to Service Design
  • Service design principles
  • Service design processes
  • Service design technology - Related activities
  • Organising for service design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementation and improvement of service design
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks


  • Reduces total cost of ownership
  • Improved quality of service
  • Improved consistency of service
  • Improved IT Governance
  • Improved Service alignments
  • More effective service performance
  • Easier implementation of new/ changed services
  • More effective service management in IT processes
  • Improved information and decision-making
  • Alignment between customer values and strategies