ITIL® Intermediate (CSI)

ITIL® Intermediate Continual Service Improvement Certification is an intermediate level certification offered to professionals within the ITIL® qualification scheme. Continual Service Improvement Certificate is a free-standing qualification, but is also part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL® Expert Certificate in IT Service Management. The purpose of this training module and the associated exam and certificate is, respectively, to impart, test, and validate the knowledge on industry practices in service management as documented in the ITIL®


Details for This Course
Date Duration Location Enquiry
  • Overview
  • Course Objectives
  • Course Exam(s)
  • Who Should Attend
  • Course topics
  • Benefits

ITIL® Intermediate (CSI)

ITIL® Intermediate - CSI

The intermediate level of ITIL offers a role based hands-on experience and in-depth coverage of the contents.

Continual Service improvement looks for ways to improve process effectiveness and efficiency as well as cost effectiveness. The purpose of CSI is “ to align IT services with changing business needs by identifying and implementing improvements to IT services that support business process.” There are three important rules of management that relate to CSI:

  • To manage you must first control
  • To control you must first measure
  • To measure you must first define


Key features

  • 2 days of Instructor Led Training
  • ITIL Intermediate exam
  • Softcopy of CSI material
  • E- certificate
  • Highly competent and ITIL Expert certified trainers



ITIL® is a registered Trademark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

Certification Levels

The ITIL® certification scheme provides a modular approach to the ITIL framework, and is comprised of a series of qualifications focused on different aspects of ITIL best practice to various degrees of depth and detail. The tiered structure of the qualification offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of ITIL and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest. There are five certification levels within the scheme:

  • Foundation Level
  • Intermediate Level
  • Expert Level
  • Master Level

To learn more on these levels please visit:

By the end of ITIL® ST certification training you will be able to:

  • Define continual service improvement
  • Describe continual service improvement principles and processes
  • Explain continual service improvement methods and techniques
  • Implement continual service improvement
  • Define strategies for challenges, CSFs, and risk factors


Hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (or other appropriate earlier ITIL and bridge qualifications) A basic IT literacy and around 2 years IT experience are highly desirable.

Intermediate Exam Details:

  • Exam Duration: 90 Minutes
  • Exam Format: Multiple Choice, scenario based gradient scored question
  • Exam Pass Mark: 70%
  • Level of Qualification: Intermediate
  • Electronic Devices Permitted: No
  • Open Book: No
  • No. of questions: 8


  • CIOs, CTOs, managers
  • Supervisory staff, team leaders
  • Designers, architects, planners
  • IT consultants, IT audit managers
  • IT security managers
  • Any IT professional involved in continual service improvement


ITIL Intermediate CSI

  • Introduction to CSI
  • CSI principles
  • CSI process
  • CSI methods and techniques
  • Organizing for CSI
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementing CSI
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks


  • Gradual/ consistent service quality improvement
  • Business – aligned IT Services
  • Cost savings – reduced costs for delivery or ability to do more for the same cost
  • Monitoring/ reporting activities clearly linked to improvements in all lifecycle phases and all processes
  • Improvements identified across the organization, not just in the Service Management realm